Return to the Tangleweed home page

Chicago Bluegrass Festival Recording

A solid recording of the recent Chicago Bluegrass Festival in Evanston, IL is available for free bit-torrent download at

Here’s a little sample, our four-man, banjo-less version of the Takeup Reel Medley, from our latest record, Most Folk Heroes Started Out As Criminals:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Here are the notes for the recording, which was made by Joe Steffen:

Chicago Bluegrass Festival
American Legion Hall
Evanston, IL

Source: SP-CMC-8 cardioid > M-AUDIO MicroTrack II > 44.1 kHz 16-bit WAV
Location: front center chair 2′ from stage, ORTF 20cm 100°
Transfer: WAV > CD Wave > Trader’s Little Helper > FLAC
Recorded by: Joe Steffen (HackensawFan at comcast dot net)

Disc 1
01. intro

Harris Covington
02. Some Day

Bubbly Creek Bluegrass Band
with Harris Covington on guitar
03. intro
04. Travelin’ Teardrop Blues
05. Colleen Malone
06. banter
07. Lee & Paige
08. Dusty Boxcar Wall

James Creek Road
09. intro
10. Love Please Come Home
11. Girl from West Virginia
12. Where Corn Don’t Grow
13. Flight That Is Leaving Soon
14. Crosses and Stones
15. Six Feet Under

Whiskey Hollow Bluegrass Band
16. intro
17. Turkey Knob
18. Wonder Where You Are Tonight
19. I Never Will Marry
20. Hang Me
21. A Few Old Memories
22. banter
23. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Disc 2
01. Bring It On Home
02. Jesus Is A Rock
03. announcements and door prizes

Northern Skyline
04. intro
05. If You’re Ever in Oklahoma
06. Vamp in the Middle
07. Dancin’ with the Angels
08. Walls of Time
09. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
10. E.M.D.
11. announcements

Peter Nye & the Chicago Bluegrass Band
12. intro
13. Peter Nye: Chip Covington banjo story
14. Butcher Boy
15. Paddy On The Turnpike
16. Love of the Mountain
17. One More Dollar
18. Just Wondering Why
19. banter
Disc 3
01. Steel Rails in the Tennessee Night

02. intro
03. Sir Lucas de Somerville/The Musical Priest/Whiskey Before Breakfast
04. Hard Times
05. The Logjam
06. South Australia
07. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
08. The Takeup Reel/Cold Frosty Morning/Grey Eagle

Henhouse Prowlers
09. intro
10. Get in Line Brother
11. Darlin’ Who Cares About Your Fun
12. Give Your Lovin’ Out
13. Mourning Dove
14. The First Train Robbery
15. Clinch Mountain Backstep/Turn Me Loose

All Band Jam
16. intro
17. Doing My Time

Bluegrass Legends Concerts

Comments »

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Your email address is never published or displayed. Basic HTML allowed. Fields marked * are required.